S1g

Wheel Horse Raider 10

This project is something that ive had at the back of my mind for a long time.  Ive allways fancied building a scale Field Marshall Tractor.  The other day on ebay this very sad looking Wheel horse turned up fairly local to me. The tin work and engine are pretty far gone, but I only really wanted the gearbox, chasis and steering set up.

As im a bit of a novice with wheel horses can anybody answer when it says 4 speed does that include 3+ reverse or 4+ reverse?

post-104-0-86607700-1414251741_thumb.jpg

post-104-0-96350700-1414251861_thumb.jpg

Ok that's explains why I couldn't find reverse gear. Does anybody have any spare narrow front rims they want to sell?

I got the perfect squat single cylinder swan Diesel engine to fit allready on the shelf, photos to follow.

3speed /4 speed and 6 speed / 8 speed difference has something to do with where the axle for the brake drum comes out, some come out closer to the rear(fixed on the mushroom gear) others are attached on the cluster gear shaft.

Koen

Koen,

That only stands for the earlier trans. I've two 4 speeds with the brake drum in the same place as the 8 speed...

8 speed over 6 speed was a marketing ploy in around 1975 when the first C series came out.

Get the new '8 speed' wheel horse was the claim :)

Koen,

That only stands for the earlier trans. I've two 4 speeds with the brake drum in the same place as the 8 speed...

8 speed over 6 speed was a marketing ploy in around 1975 when the first C series came out.

Get the new '8 speed' wheel horse was the claim :)

ah, makes sense, was talking with steveasaurus a couple of weeks ago, he told me it had to do with the brakeshaft thingy that makes it a 3speed or 4speed / 6speed or 8speed

Koen