Rocboni

Ransomes ITW

Well I'm afraid I've been hiding something from you all for about 5 months, I have busy re creating a rare if not singular example of a Ransomes ITW. Its taken a lot of hard work and to be honest I'm glad it's finished apart from completing the snagging list. The original is believed to be a one off, prototype machine which pictures are all that's left (as below)

IMG_1210_zpsceyjdi28.png

IMG_1211_zps2rxbndvr.png

The likelihood of me coming across an ITW let alone buy one was very low, then even if i did find a genuine one I would have found it hard to cut it up to make it into the replica, so I started with a donor MG6... Here Jonathan is loading it with the help of a winch tractor to bring it back up for me from Hereford.

P1200198_zpsamowa8qv.jpg

I mainly made it for the Ransomes display at Malvern in February. Everybody has there own opinion of replica machines and cars and sometimes they are not appreciated the same but hopefully this one will because as far as we know it is been lost to us all and re creating it is a good thing.......

IMG_1197_zps6rjyjqkc.jpg

IMG_1195_zpswnnbwiau.jpg

FullSizeRender_zpss7y3yrtu.jpg

IMG_1191_zps4vwliiyo.jpg

I do have a video but not worked out how to upload it yet...

To give you some idea of the engineering involved... the main shafts which hold the wheels are 90mm bright bar and the parts which hold the sprockets are 190mm!

ipad%20254_zpsgpd1m0uu.jpg

ipad%20253_zpsjjyztvku.jpg

ipad%20255_zpsfvmycx1u.jpg

ipad%20257_zpsytjxumgv.jpg

The engine came separately from a nice guy in Peterbourgh who kindly took a large hit to sell it to me from what he paid!

Hope you like it.......

Edited by Rocboni

Stunning workmanship.

In my view, there's a time and place for creating a replica and this is such a case in point as you are obviously an enthusiast for the Ransomes. Any replica created is a skill which I do not possess.

Looking forward to seeing a video of it soon.