Potash123

Hayter Osprey

Hi. Newbie here; just joined the Forum. I have just bought a complete Osprey which I am restoring. I have restored English motorcycles and mowers since I retired just for fun. This Osprey is a going concern and is solid. This is the model with the front bumper and 7 BHP engine. The engine is now serviced and runs great the blades are now sharp and ready to cut. I will start on the paintwork when it is warm enough to use a spray gun. I cannot keep my projects due to a lack of room as there is a Lambretta and a Francis Barnett taking up room in the garage. I have another complete Osprey to collect in the spring, so this current one will go on the market. Due to the lack of information on the internet can someone date this well built machine and suggest a price for selling, I am not greedy !

Well done to the moderators on this site, great reading.

Regard's Colin  ( Essex ) 

Assuming that it has its original Briggs and Stratton engine the engine code number stamped into the blower housing / cylinder shroud will give a rough indication ie 830905** 1983, September the fifth. The last two digits are for the plant/shift of manufacture. If the engine is original the date of the machine is likely to be within six months later.

No Glass's Guide for used mowers, it's what someone is prepared to pay on the day. Unless the paint/rust is really bad it can be worth more in original condition commensurate with its age rather than repainted.

The Francis Barnett is a restored 1959 Falcon 81 with the Villiers 197 cc engine. That will be going in the spring. No photos of the Osprey at the moment as it is in bits and the wheels have gone off to be blasted. Engine 870402. Thanks for replies. I found one second hand Osprey on the internet, it is in a mower shop for over £600 with a three months warranty. Seems to have had a new coat of paint. ?